Elvis Complete SIngles UK and USA 12 I Was the One

Elvis Complete Singles 12: I Was the One

What was interesting about this song, the B-side of Heartbreak Hotel, is that it’s a ballad because it shows that even rockers such as Elvis needed to slow things down sometimes, this record also appealed to Elvis’s teenage girl fans. The same band that made the A Side were present and correct for this one with the addition of Gordon Stocker from the Jordanaires with Ben and Brock Speer from the newly signed RCA group the Speer Quartet. Elvis was unhappy at this because he wanted the full Jordanaires. The song is an interesting one for me because it works so well with the spartan quartet.

 

This is one of my favourite records because when I started listening to Elvis this taught me how he could cover so many different styles. I think another reason why I loved it so much at that young age is that it was so different to the pop sounds of the early 2000s with the echo and the sound with Elvis showing off his vocal range. The general public agreed with me, on the song, taking it to Number 19 on Billboard pop charts.

Thanks:45 Cat.com

Leave a comment